Creative project

I was having trouble deciding what to do for my creative project, but for some reason an image stuck in my head and I couldn’t move away from it so I continued with its concept. The image stuck in my head was a cowboy in a pink tutu. This lead me to my topic of stereotypes in our society.  I wanted it to be related to my studies about how I produce this visual piece and I though a collage would be a good way to start. Making collages in other units has helped me pick up skills to try and perfect the final outcome. I wanted it to look as close to my image in my head as I could. I documented my project by photography to get an image that will hopefully catch people’s eye and think about the concepts.

These are the original pictures that have helped me create my design before I took them apart and redesigned them in my stereotypical concept which will be explained in my exegesis. The pictures  and lyrics where found off the internet.

 

 

 

 

 

(Lasome, 2008)                                              (Karen, 2011)

I asked myself what would a stereotypical cowboy not go and see. A cowboy and a tutu! What could I come up with?

 In today’s society we would think this is a very bizare concept of a cowboy liking ballet or knows ballet. In society though there actually maybe a ballet loving cowboy.

 

 

 

(Dave, 2011)                                                                                                 (Life & Gossip.com, 2009)

 Another idea was a stereotypical biker and had to think of something they would never do. I thought Susan Boyle was a good choice.

 

 My creation of a stereotypical bikie with a Susan Boyle tatoo. You wouldn’t call him a stereotypical bikie now would you?

From here I moved on to death metal stereotypes, but instead of using an image I found a song from a death metal band. I tried to think of what is the complete opposite musical group and I though classical. Not just any type of classical but Disney classical. I used the lyrics of the two and then mashed them together. I tried two different concepts in doing this. But first these are the lyrics before they where dismantled.

death metal- by Vader  lyrics  (Sorry if the words are jumbled up, I don’t know how to fix it : S  )

Arise from the dead and attack from the grave
The killing won’t stop until first light
We’ll bring you to hell because we want to enslave
Soul will be frozen with fright

We’ll break through the crust, leave from our crypts
Protected by eternal life
Lay down the laws from our satanic scripts
Bringing you nothing but strife

Death metal

Ruling your cities, controlling your towns
Entrapped in your worst nightmare
Piercing your ears with the horrible sound
Casting my elusive stare

Lucifer laughs, his needs are fulfilled
The Flames are now burning hot
( From: http://www.elyrics.net/read/v/vader-lyrics/death-metal-lyrics.html )
Bodies are burning, the people are killed
Torture the reason we fought

Death Metal

Kill Them Pigs

Now we take over and rule by death metal
Enjoy our long wanted reign
Blood’s what we want and we won’t settle
Until we drive you insane

Attacking the young and killing the old
Bleeding with every heart beat
Darkness has feelen and your soul is sold
Claws will dig into your meat

When the sun doesn’t rise and the day is like night
Know that your life is at its end
Rendered helpless so scream out fright
Death metal came in the wind
Death metal

  (Elyrics.net, 2000)

Part of your world –  The Little Mermaid

Look at this stuff

Isn’t it neat?

Wouldn’t you think my collection’s complete?

Wouldn’t you think I’m the girl

The girl who has everything?

Look at this trove

Treasures untold

How many wonders can one cavern hold?

Lookin’ around here you’d think

(Sure) she’s got everything

I’ve got gadgets and gizmos aplenty

I’ve got whozits and whatzits galore

(You want thingamabobs?

I got twenty)

But who cares?

No big deal

I want more

I wanna be where the people are

I wanna see

Wanna see ’em dancin’

Walkin’ around on those

(Whad’ya call ’em?) oh – feet

Flippin’ your fins you don’t get too far

Legs are required for jumpin’, dancin’

Strollin’ along down a

(What’s that word again?) street

Up where they walk

Up where they run

Up where they stay all day in the sun

Wanderin’ free

Wish I could be

Part of that world

What would I give

If I could live

Outta these waters?

What would I pay

To spend a day

Warm on the sand?

Betcha on land

They understand

Bet they don’t reprimand their daughters

Bright young women

Sick o’ swimmin’

Ready to stand

And ready to know what the people know

Ask ’em my questions

And get some answers

What’s a fire and why does it

(What’s the word?) burn?

When’s it my turn?

Wouldn’t I love

Love to explore that shore above?

Out of the sea

Wish I could be

Part of that world

 (Pilhofer, 1995)

This is my first attempt at changing the lyrics around. I had a secence where I would keep all of Vader’s lyrics but for every second line I would use every second lyric line in Part of your world. This is how it turned out to be, I tried to match it a bit more but trying to add the sentences together. Some of it work some of it didn’t this is how it went.

Arise from the dead and attack from the grave Isn’t it neat?

The killing won’t stop until first light

Wouldn’t you think I’m the girl We’ll bring you to hell because we want to enslave

Look at this trove soul will be frozen with fright

How many wonders can one cavern hold? We’ll break through the crust, leave from our crypts

(Sure) she’s got everything Protected by eternal life

I’ve got whozits and whatzits galore

Lay down the laws from our satanic scripts I got twenty) Bringing you nothing but strife

No big deal Death metal

I wanna be where the people are Ruling you cities, controlling your towns

Wanna see ’em dancin’ Entrapped in your worst nightmare

(Whad’ya call ’em?) oh – feet Piercing your ears with the horrible sound

Legs are required for jumpin’, dancin’

Casting my elusive stare

(What’s that word again?) street

Lucifer laughs, his needs are fulfilled Up where they run The flames are now burning hot

Wanderin’ free Bodies are burning, the people are killed

Part of that world Torture the reason we fought

If I could live Death Metal What would I pay

Kill them pigs Warm on the sand?

Now we take over and rule by death metal they understand

Enjoy our long wanted reign bright young women

Blood’s what we want and we won’t settle Ready to stand

Until we drive you insane Ask ’em my questions

Attacking the young and killing the old (What’s the word?) burn?

Bleeding with every heart beat Wouldn’t I love

Darkness has feelen and your soul is sold

Out of the sea Claws will dig into your meat

Part of that world When the sun doesn’t rise and the day is like night

Know that your life is at its end

Rendered helpless so scream out fright

 death metal came in the wind

Death metal.

This is my second attempt, this time I took the most related words from Part of your World to try and fit them in with Vader. They don’t have any order they are just put in place to try and find lyrical sentences that work.

Arise from the dead and attack from the grave

 The killing won’t stop until first light

We’ll bring you to hell because we want to enslave

soul will be frozen with fright

Up where they walk

We’ll break through the crust, leave from our crypts

Protected by eternal life

Lay down the laws from our satanic scripts

Look at this stuff

Wouldn’t I love

If I could live

Wish I could be

Bringing you nothing but strife

But who cares?

Death metal

Look at this trove

Treasures untold

Ruling you cities, controlling your towns

Entrapped in your worst nightmare

Lookin’ around here you’d think

They understand

Piercing your ears with the horrible sound

What would I give

I wanna see

Casting my elusive stare

Lucifer laughs, his needs are fulfilled

When’s it my turn?

I wanna be where the people are

The flames are now burning hot

 

Bodies are burning, the people are killed

Wouldn’t you think my collection’s complete?

I want more

Torture the reason we fought

Death Metal

What would I pay

Kill them pigs

Wanderin’ free

Now we take over and rule by death metal

Enjoy our long wanted reign

Blood’s what we want and we won’t settle

Until we drive you insane

Attacking the young and killing the old

Ask ’em my questions

And get some answers

Bleeding with every heart beat

Darkness has feelen and your soul is sold

Up where they run

Claws will dig into your meat

To spend a day

When the sun doesn’t rise and the day is like night

Know that your life is at its end

No big deal

Rendered helpless so scream out fright

 death metal came in the wind

Death metal.

 I will explain more about why I chose this creative project in my exegesis.

References

Dave. (2011, April 10). Dave’s Quills & Pixels. Retrieved from WordPress: http://daveahand.wordpress.com/

Elyrics.net. (2000). Vader. Retrieved from Death metal Lyrics: http://www.elyrics.net/read/v/vader-lyrics/death-metal-lyrics.html

Karen. (2011, June 7). Tutus by Karen. Retrieved from Tutu gallery: http://www.tutusbykaren.co.uk/tutu_album/tutus.htm

Lasome, J. “. (2008, June 29). Demon knight shines due to Standout Acting, an Engaging script and About Average Effects. Retrieved 2005, from Best-Horror-Movies.com: http://www.best-horror-movies.com/demon-knight.html

Life & Gossip.com. (2009, December 10). Susan Boyle is no joke people! Retrieved from Life & Gossip.com: http://lifeandgossip.com/tag/susan-boyle-album-sales/

Pilhofer, F. (1995, March 31). Song lyrics: The Little Mermaid. Retrieved from Disney song lyrics: http://www.fpx.de/fp/Disney/Lyrics/TheLittleMermaid.html

~ by courtzbb on June 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
